Upscaling Baby Food Jars: Ornaments

With my first baby switching to solids, I wondered what to do with all of these adorable baby food jars. I don’t like throwing things away that might be re-purposed, so here’s how to create an ornament from a baby food jar:

1. Find a cute baby to eat the food:
Image

I know she’s not eating the food in the photo, but she’s so dang cute, I wanted to take another photo!

2. Wash jars and remove the label and adhesive.

WP_20131218_005

The adhesive can be difficult to remove, but I found that WD-40 and an old dish cloth will do the job. Then, just give the jar another quick wash and set out to dry. Once they dry, you may have to polish out a few water spots with a dry or slightly-damp cloth.

3. Punch a hole in your baby food lids, from the top to keep the sharp metal parts on the inside. Use a hammer and nail or whatever you’d prefer.

4. Spray paint the lids. You can use any color and any type of spray paint, but I opted for glossy black paint that adheres well to metal. It’ll most likely take two coats. Let dry a day or so in between layers of paint. Paint indoors if possible (if it’s cold out), and bring your project inside asap to keep the paint from freezing.

WP_20131218_006

5. Add some ribbon as your ornament hanger. I looped it, pushed the loop through the top of the lid, and tied a knot underneath. I cut off the extra. If you push the ribbon through from the bottom, you risk fraying it with the sharp metal around the hold. If you come up with a good way to flatten it- go for it!

6. Add some glitter! My sister and I added some glitter to make things extra festive.

WP_20131218_007

7. Have your photos printed 300 ppi and about 2 inch by 2 inch. You can fit 6 on a 4x6inch photo. If you want your photos to sit straight up in the ornament, have them printed a little smaller.

WP_20131218_008

Print two so you can glue them back to back before placing them into the jar. I chose black & white photos so that they would look nice no matter the ribbon or glitter I added.

8. Slip in your photos and add some glitter to create a snowglobe effect.

WP_20131218_009

9. Screw on your lid and hang on the tree! You’ll have a sweet, personalized gift for grandparents and aunts/uncles that is super cheap and recycles something that belongs to baby.

WP_20131217_022

Leave a reply with your ideas!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee Bendit
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 04:44:19

    Perfect for grandparents!!!

    Reply

  2. Elke Drayton
    Sep 24, 2015 @ 11:14:47

    Perfect for my Preschool Parents

    Reply

  3. Ariel
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 00:09:12

    Is there any special paper u used to print the photos on

    Reply

    • Rachael
      Jan 08, 2016 @ 12:51:14

      I just used photo paper. I think I measured each photo to be two inches by two inches and then just created a photoshop document with the photos repeated in a 4x6in document to be printed at Target. Then, I cut them at home. I taped the photos back to back so that there would be a photo on both sides. You could do the same photos twice, or different photos. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Trackback: 20 Homemade Ornaments for Baby's First Christmas - Mommy's Bundle

Leave a Reply

